How did I miss this? – Always go to the Funeral

I stumbled across this beautiful piece from NPR”s This I Believe series the other day. I don’t know how I’ve missed it all these years.  We’ll be adding a link to it from  www.thefuneralsite.com ‘s library. It’s titled, Always go to the Funeral written by Deirdre Sullivan. The piece was broadcast in August 2005!

This I Believe - Always go to the Funeral by Deirdre Sullivan

This I Believe - Always go to the Funeral by Deirdre Sullivan

Deirdre Sullivan grew up in Syracuse, N.Y., and traveled the world working odd jobs before attending law school at Northwestern University. She’s now a freelance attorney living in Brooklyn. Sullivan said her father’s greatest gift to her and her family was how he taught them to do a good deed as opposed to doing nothing at all.

Recently friends have told me, “I don’t like funerals” in explaining why they didn’t attend. . . . Who likes funerals? Who likes going to the dentist?

There are things we do in life to take care of ourselves and each other. We do it because it’s the right thing to do. It’s a simple act of kindness.

Always go to the funeral.

-Anna

Leave a Reply

